Home » Independent Commission for Aid Impact: new commissioners appointed

Independent Commission for Aid Impact: new commissioners appointed

Liz Ditchburn and Harold Freeman have been appointed as part-time commissioners for the Independent Commission for Aid Impact (ICAI) for 4 years, from 1 July 2024.

Liz is a highly experienced public sector leader in international, UK and devolved administrations. She is currently a trustee of Nesta, a non-executive director at Net Zero Technology Centre and an honorary professor at the Adam Smith Business School, University of Glasgow. She has previously held roles as the Director General for Economy for the Scottish Government and was the former Department for International Development’s Policy Director and its first value for money director.

Harold is a board-level professional specialising in economic development, public policy, and sustainable finance. He currently works as an independent advisor and is a member of the advisory council of trade credit agency UK Export Finance. He has previously held roles as a board director at the European Bank for Reconstruction & Development and led on sustainable lending as Head of International Debt & Capital Markets at HM Treasury.

These appointments are made in accordance with the Cabinet Office Code of Governance for Public Appointments. The regulation of public appointments against the requirements of this Code is carried out by the Commissioner for Public Appointments. 

Liz Ditchburn and Harold Freeman will replace Sir Hugh Bayley and Tarek Rouchdy, whose appointments as ICAI commissioners end on 30 June.  A selection process to replace Dr Tamsyn Barton, the outgoing ICAI Chief Commissioner, is underway and an announcement will be made once this process is complete.