Home » Cheltenham Festival Top Jockey 2024 standings and results

Cheltenham Festival Top Jockey 2024 standings and results

The battle has begun to be crowned the top jockey at this year’s Cheltenham Festival, but who will come out on top?

The top jockey and top trainer of the week often go hand in hand so it’s no surprise that Willie Mullins’ top man Paul Townend retained the Ruby Walsh Trophy at last year’s festival.

He will be going for his third in a row this year onboard several of Willie’s top horses, with Galopin Des Champs, El Fabiolo and State Man all red-hot favourites in their respective events.

Rachel Blackmore, the top jockey in 2021, could be Townend’s closest rival and she will get the pick of the bunch from Henry De Bromheads’s yard. Nico De Bonneville is Nicky Henderson’s man and will be riding the best on offer from the British trainer, while Jack Kennedy should notch a win or two on Gordon Elliott’s leading lights.

While winning as many as possible will be the aim for each jockey, they will have one eye focused on each of the feature races, especially the Cheltenham Gold Cup on Friday.

You can run the rule over the Cheltenham Festival 2024 odds on the Paddy Power website and Paddy Power app, otherwise, the top jockey standings are below.

Read More: Cheltenham Festival On TV Today | Cheltenham Festival Free Live Stream | Cheltenham Festival Radio Coverage | Cheltenham Results

Cheltenham Festival 2024 Top Jockey standings

We’ll update this page with the latest scores in the race to become the top jockey at this year’s Cheltenham Festival.

Paul Townend – 6
Harry Skelton – 4
Rachel Blackmore – 2
Derek O’Connor – 2
Lorcan Williams – 1
Ben Jones – 1
Jack Kennedy – 1
Harry Cobden – 1
Patrick Mullins – 1
Mark Walsh – 1
David Bass – 1
JJ Slevin – 1
Sam Ewing – 1
Keith Donoghue – 1
Danny Gilligan – 1
John Dawson – 1

Cheltenham Festival Top Jockey winners

The last 10 winners of the Cheltenham Festival Top Jockey can be found below, with their number of wins at the respective meetings in brackets.

2023: Paul Townend (5)
Paul Townend (5)
2021: Rachael Blackmore (6)
2020: Paul Townend (5)
2019: Nico de Boinville (3)
2018: Davy Russell (4)
2017: Ruby Walsh (4)
2016: Ruby Walsh (7)
2015: Ruby Walsh (4)
2014: Ruby Walsh (3)

Read More on the Cheltenham Festival 2024

The latest racing odds are on PaddyPower.com now

The Paddy Power Guide To Safer Gambling – Everything You Need To Know